Your Contact person
Natália Spodniak PR & Media

Country profile

Slovakia is, thanks to its geographical situation in the “heart of Europe”, a very easily accessible country. It creates a natural bridge between Western and Eastern Europe. Its continually improving infrastructure contributes to the very easy accessibility from the other neighboring countries. Well-developed network of roads for international transportation provides easy connection with different parts of Slovakia, as well as surrounding countries.
Official name: Slovak Republic (SR)
State formation date: 1 January 1993

State system: Republic
Political system: parliamentary democracy (150 members of Parliament elected for 4 years)

President: Andrej Kiska (since 2014), elected for 5 years
Prime Minister: Róbert Fico (since 2012)

State symbols: national coat of arms/ emblem, national flag, state seal and national anthem „Nad Tatrou sa blýska“

Membership in international organisations: EU (since 1 May 2004), NATO, UN, UNESCO, OECD, OBSE, CERN, WHO, INTERPOL, etc.

International codes: SK, SVK, bar code 858

Area: 49 035 km2

Location: Central Europe (17° - 22° E, 47° - 49° N)
The mid and the North of the country is mountainous (Carpathian curve), lowlands (important agricultural areas) are typical of the South and the East. The most important Slovak river the Danube connects the capital city of the SR Bratislava with two capital cities of the neighbour countries - Vienna and Budapest.

Time: Central European time (+ 1 hour from GMT)
Summer time/daylight- saving time from March to November is + 2 hours from GMT

Elevation: the highest point is Gerlach Peak (2655 m), the lowest point is the Bodrog river (95 m).

Climate: Moderate climatic zone, with changing four seasons, average temperature in winter -2°C (the coldest month January, the coldest area High Tatras), in summer 21°C (the warmest months July and August, the warmest area Danubian Lowland). In some mountain ranges the snow remains on average 130 days per year.

Border countries: Hungary (679 km), Poland (597.5 km), the Czech Republic (265 km), Austria (127,2 km), Ukraine (98 km)

Administrative divisions: 8 self-governing regions (Bratislava, Trnava, Trenčín, Nitra, Žilina, Banská Bystrica, Prešov, Košice region), 79 districts, 138 towns, 2891 municipalities (including towns)

Capital city: Bratislava (population 426 091 as at 31/12/2006)
Population: 5 413 548 as at 31/3/2009
Population density: 110/km2

Official language: Slovak
Nationalities / Ethnic groups: Slovak (85.8%), Hungarian (9.7%), Roma (Gipsy) (1.7%), Czech (0.8%), Ruthenian, Ukrainian, German, Polish and other (2%)

  • believers approximately 84.1% of which: Roman Catholic (68.9%), Evangelic (6.9%), Greek-Catholic (4.1%), Reformed Christians (2%), Orthodox (1%)
  • other, unspecified 4.1%
  • without confession about 13%

Currency: EURO (from 1/1/2009)

National holidays (are also the public holidays):
  • 1 January - Day of the establishment of the Slovak Republic
  • 5 July - St. Cyril and Methodius Day
  • 29 August - Slovak National Uprising anniversary
  • 1 September - Day of the Constitution of the Slovak Republic
  • 17 November - Struggle for Freedom and Democracy Day

Days off:
  • 6 January - Epiphany (The Three Magi)
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Monday
  • 1 May - Labour Day
  • 8 May - Day of victory over fascism
  • 15 September - Lady of Sorrows Day / Blessed Virgin Mary
  • 1 November - All Saints` Day
  • 24 December - Christmas Eve
  • 25 December - Christmas Day
  • 26 December - St. Stephen`s Day

Go to top